Background image

Workshop on Adaptable Research Methods For Empirical Research with Map Users

Thursday 6 May 2021

Everyone globally has been affected by the COVID-19 in one way or another. Most of us have probably had to make adjustments to planned research projects as a result of restrictions on mobility and interacting with people outside our own households. Nevertheless, despite these challenges, people have been successful in undertaking research. This workshop is a forum for sharing our collective experiences in adapting user research methods for remote studies. We aim to document innovative experimental adaptations and to help each other solve unsolved problems.

 



Workshop format

Based on submitted abstracts, the workshop will be composed of a mix of standard presentations and facilitated discussion of focused issues.

 

Workshop Outcomes

We plan at a minimum to build a webpage to be hosted on the Commission website with a synthesis of the ideas presented at the workshop. It is hard to predict in advance if there will be sufficient material, but if it seems to be the case after the workshop, we suggest also the development of a collaborative paper to be submitted to the International Journal of Cartography

 

Cost

There is no cost for participation, but we ask that you register in advance by 30 April 2021 to support the logistical planning of the workshop. Register to attend the workshop.

 

Workshop Platform

We have decided to use Zoom as the platform for the workshop. Joining details will be emailed to all registered participants before the workshop.

 

Organizers

Dr. Amy Griffin

Dr. Petr Kubíček

Dr. Pyry Kettunen

RMIT University

Masaryk University

Finnish Geospatial Research Institute (FGI, NLS)

ICA Commission on Cognitive Issues in Geographic Information Visualization

 

Prof. Rob Roth

Prof. Luciene Delazari

Dr. Zdeněk Stachoň

Katarzyna Słomska-Przech

University of Wisconsin Madison

Federal Univ. of Paraná

Masaryk University

University of Warsaw

ICA Commission on User Experience

 



Program

There is no time of day that will perfectly suit all time zones, so we have tried to come up with a schedule that allows the greatest number of time zones to attend at least some of the workshop at an at least semi-civilised hour.

 

Session 1

22:00-22:20 (AEST)

14:00-14:20 (CET)

8:00-8:20 (US EST)

5:00-5:20 (US PST)

Experiences with Collaborative Map Use Interface in Remote Courses of Maritime Spatial Planning

Pyry Kettunen, Christian Koski, Mikko Rönneberg

15 minutes presentation + 5 minutes discussion

22:20-22:40 (AEST)

14:20-14:40 (CET)

8:20-8:40 (US EST)

5:20-5:40 (US PST)

Investigating Differences in Perception & Cognition of Map Symbols Through Laboratory & Online User Experiments

Bradley Denney, Amy L. Griffin, Zdenêk Stachoň

15 minutes presentation + 5 minutes discussion

22:40-23:00 (AEST)

14:40-15:00 (CET)

8:40-9:00 (US EST)

5:40-6:00 (US PST)

Performing cartographic visual search experiments online: opportunities and challenges

Vassilios Krassanakis, Anastasios L. Kesidis, Athina Pappa, Loukas-Moysis Misthos

10 minutes presentation + 10 minutes discussion

23:00-23:20 (AEST)

15:00-15:20 (CET)

9:00-9:20 (US EST)

6:00-6:20 (US PST)

Doing research online in 2020 - what if you cannot?

Bing Liu

10 minutes presentation + 10 minutes discussion

 

10 minute break

 

Session 2

23:40-00:00 (AEST)

15:30-15:50 (CET)

9:30-9:50 (US EST)

6:30-6:50 (US PST)

Distributing map studies

Robert E. Roth, Gareth Baldrica-Franklin, Meghan Kelly, Nick Underwood, Carl Sack

15 minutes presentation + 5 minutes discussion

23:50-00:10 (AEST)

15:50-16:10 (CET)

9:50-10:10 (US EST)

6:50-7:10 (US PST)

Remote usability testing in cognitive cartography: Evaluation of 3D interactive (geo)visualizations

Lukas Herman

15 minutes presentation + 5 minutes discussion

00:10-00:30 (AEST)

16:10-16:30 (CET)

10:10-10:30 (US EST)

7:10-7:30 (US PST)

Map reading strategies comparison using eye-movement data

Stanislav Popelka, Markéta Beitlová

15 minutes presentation + 5 minutes discussion

00:30-00:50 (AEST)

16:30-16:50 (CET)

10:30-10:50 (US EST)

7:30-7:50 (US PST)

The lack of empirically-derived guidelines about designing cartographic user experiments

Merve Keskin

20 minutes discussion

 

20 minute break

 

Session 3

1:10-1:30 (AEST)

17:10-17:30 (CET)

11:10-11:30 (US EST)

8:10-8:30 (US PST)

Popularisation of knowledge in digital humanities with help of UX – project Historical Atlas of Poland 2.0

Katarzyna Słomska-Przech, Adrian Bajer, Dawid Maciuszek, Tomasz Panecki

15 minutes presentation + 5 minutes discussion

1:30-1:50 (AEST)

17:30-17:50 (CET)

11:30-11:50 (US EST)

8:30-8:50 (US PST)

When things go wrong or how to try saving a user study on map design during a pandemic

Mona Bartling

10 minutes presentation + 10 minutes discussion

1:50-2:10 (AEST)

17:50-18:10 (CET)

11:50-12:10 (US EST)

8:50-9:10 (US PST)

Designing a Web Study to Evaluate the Cognition of Movement Parameters using Static versus Dynamic Visualizations of GPS Tracks

Crystal J. Bae, Kyle Johnson, Somayeh Dodge

15 minutes presentation + 5 minutes discussion

2:10-2:30 (AEST)

18:10-18:30 (CET)

12:10-12:30 (US EST)

9:10-9:30 (US PST)

Conducting eye tracking studies online

Madhumitha Murali, Arzu Çöltekin

20 minutes discussion

 


XHTML
CSS
DGZ Logo